Think Think Think

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

think think think

“Think think think” Said Winnie the pooh, “think think think” I agreed going for coffee -SelfTweet

Have you ever found yourself in such a writing hole that you seem to float through the day (or weekend) with out realizing how much time has passed? If at the end of that day, a doctor were to take a sample of your blood, would it be more coffee then blood?

The answer for me is, Yes and yes. For the past few days, I have found myself spinning in circles trying to untangle a plot knot. I have tried everything from ignoring the knot, to picking at it, to erasing it only to have it crop up again later. So what do you do when your stuck in a rutt?

Well a friend of mine said to just walk away from it. Which is good advice…. to step away from what ever writing device you find yourself planted in front of and just leave it alone. Usually, not always, but usually when you leave something alone for a few days and pick it back up again, you’ll find a way to untangle that knot. Yet, I find this knot ever persistent in making my writing life rather difficult.

So what do I do?

Well I do what Winnie the pooh does. I Think Think Think, and then think think think some more….Next thing I know, it’s Monday and when I last looked at the calender on my computer it was Friday.

So what should I do? Should I abandon the whole section and start from scratch? Well that in my opinion would be counter productive. Should I go back and see if I can snip the knot before it starts (you know the whole bubble gum in hair solution), It’s possible, but that would require me reading through a third of my manuscript, and usually ends me up with a head ache.

So what should I do?

Well, that’s just the thing, in my case it’s not a matter of what should I do– it is more, W.W.M.C.D. (What would my character do?) This of course brings on a whole new cycle of think think thinking, but i believe for all the times I am thinking about a knot, or even a hole through the plot– that eventually when someone reads that novel: They’ll appreciate all the head-spinning-muse-cursing-cartoon-answering-insanity that comes with the world of writing.

So have any of you found yourself in a similar predicament? If so, What did you do to fix it!?

Leave a Reply

