What’s This About a Pen Name?

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Beginning, Pen name, Writing
Tags: , , ,

pen+name+tag

For as many years as people have been writing– there have been pen names! So what’s in a name, why is it important? What can we learn from the names other authors choose to use– or what does your name say about you? In all honesty, the pen names speak a number of things about a person who uses it. It could be something as simple as Your first name, and a your mothers maiden name– or it could be something completely made up.

Does it really matter what your pen name is?

Well that depends on how you look at it. Are you just looking for a random name to publish your work– or are you looking for an identity all your own?

A lot of people will tell you, a pen name is VASTLY important. You NEED a pen name or you’ll be slaughtered by both mail from fans- stalkers- or even the ever favorite– Hate mail.

Well this could be the case, but before you freak out, let me explain:

If you use your real name, you always run the risk of people searching you, finding you on facebook (Maybe your personal facebook that you may not want people to find); If your writing takes off and becomes the next H.P. Lovecraft– or Nora Roberts– (And i hope it does), you could find your self in a predicament where you no longer have any kind of privacy. Your life could become open to the public in ways you may not be prepared for.

That’s not to say that this will happen, just that it is a possibility. Thankfully writing is one of those crafts where your real name doesn’t need to be given to anyone save your publisher– for legal reasons.

A lot of authors who choose to use their real name, may never come across some of the fated publicity of the hot topic names, like presently E. L. James or Stephanie Meyer to name a few. Both of these authors are under fire by both the media and the internet (Never doubt the internet!) with both Fans, and Hater’s alike.

I don’t know enough about these authors to tell you if they used their a pen name or not- but; if they didn’t, I am sure they’re wishing they did.

IF they did, then they are like many Authors who prefer the suitable anonymity (even if it is only partial) of a pen name. This gives them a separation of Written world- and home life. Their home address is harder to come by, they’re personal Social Media connections isn’t as easy to gather. It’s not impossible to find these things, but for a while, they are able to write freely and live rather comfortably with out the world looking at them and scrutinizing every move they make.

So does this mean you NEED to get a pen name? No, but i would advise it.

Indeed, i find pen names to be extensions of myself when i am writing. I have two pen names, because I am an author with a few writing niches, and I separate my work accordingly.

I Love Fantasy Novels, and have found writing them to be a blessing; I am able to escape into all those child hood valley’s and explore the adventures I went on as a child. Even now when I am sitting watching the weather outside (presently snowing) I think of fairies or the stories my family told me growing up. For these muses I use the name Sylver Doe.

I also write regular every day fiction– I prefer action like fiction and love reading Tom Clancy novels– I have looked into the armed forces and plan on joining them in the future, however for the moment I love writing about them, the trials and tribulations that come along with being a soldier. More then that- I just enjoy writing every day fiction novels that people can relate to, and for this is go by the name Trisha Ellen.

Does this mean I have Two FB pages, Two Twitter accounts, Two MySpace’s– or what ever other Social media outlet i can use?

HECK NO! It’s hard enough to keep one of each going– never mind post on my blogs, live my everyday life (Because for me at this point, writing doesn’t pay the bills) AND get down to WRITING! I make it well known– or at least plan to make it well known, that I do write under two pens.

The choice is yours, while i am biased for the pen name, that doesn’t make it wrong for you to choose your own name. However you swing it, it’s your choice: Check out my Next Blog update for How to choose your pen name!

Writing Always;

FOOTER2

Leave a Reply

